Tours

For certain types of travelers, package tours in Alaska can eliminate some of the guesswork and logistics-induced headaches that often accompany a self-planned tour. For others, the grandeur of the 49th state begs to be explored without such a fixed itinerary. The choice, dear Alaska traveler, is yours.

Several cruise lines—including Holland America, Royal Caribbean International, and Princess Cruises—offer "cruisetours" that combine the comforts of cruise-ship travel with inland forays to luxury lodges. A host of Alaskan owned-and-operated companies offer package tours as well. Standouts include Alaska Tours, Salmon Berry Tours, and the Alaska Railroad. In addition, chances are good that there's a tour operation with itineraries to match your needs and interests, whatever those may be.

Organization

United States Tour Operators Association. 212/599–6599; www.ustoa.com.

Recommended Companies

Alaska Airlines Vacations. 844/762-0087; www.alaskaair.com/shopping/vacations.

Alaska Railroad Scenic Rail Tours. 907/265–2494; 800/544–0552; www.alaskarailroad.com.

Alaska Tour & Travel. 907/245–0200; 800/208–0200; www.alaskatravel.com.

Alaska Tours. 907/277–3000; 866/317–3325; www.alaskatours.com. From $86.

Gray Line Alaska. 888/425–1737; www.graylinealaska.com. From $21.

Holland America Line. 877/932–4259; www.hollandamerica.com. From $299.

John Hall's Alaska Cruises & Tours. 800/325–2270; www.kissalaska.com. From $3,990.

Knightly Tours. 206/938–8567; 800/426–2123; knightlytours.com. From $59.

Premier Alaska Tours. 888/486–8725; www.premieralaskatours.com. Call for pricing.

Princess Cruises. 800/774–6237; www.princess.com. From $449.

Royal Caribbean International. 866/562--7625; www.royalcaribbean.com. From $399.

Salmon Berry Tours. 907/278–3572; 888/878–3572; www.salmonberrytours.com. From $59.

Viking Travel, Inc.. Petersburg, Alaska. 907/772–3818; 800/327–2571; www.alaskaferry.com. From $119.

Special-Interest Tours

Cultural Tours

Contacts

Cape Fox Tours. 907/225–4421; www.capefoxtours.com. Call for pricing.

Northern Alaska Tour Company. 907/474–8600; 800/474–1986; www.northernalaska.com. From $179.

Sitka Tribal Tours. 907/747–7137; www.sitkatours.com. Call for pricing.

Ecotours and Learning Vacations

Contacts

Alaska Wildland Adventures. 800/334–8730; www.alaskawildland.com. From $3995.

Natural Habitat Adventures. 303/449–3711; 800/543–8917; www.nathab.com. From $6,595.

Nature Expeditions International. 800/869–0639; 954/693–8852; www.naturexp.com. From $1,895 .

Oceanic Society Expeditions. 415/256–9604; 800/326–7491; www.oceanicsociety.org. From $6,475.

Sierra Club. 415/977–5522; www.sierraclub.org. From $1,145.

Smithsonian Journeys. 855/330–1542; www.smithsonianjourneys.org. From $6,395.

Natural History Tours

Contacts

Camp Denali. 907/683–2290; www.campdenali.com. From $1875.

Hallo Bay Bear Camp. 907/235–2237; www.hallobay.com. From $625.

Photography Tours

Contacts

Alaska Photography Tours. 907/781–2208; 888/440–2281; www.alaskaphotographytours.com. From $4750.

Joseph Van Os Photo Safaris. 206/707-9481; www.photosafaris.com. Call for pricing.

Trending Stories

Advertisement

Find a Hotel

Guidebooks

Fodor's Alaska

View Details