Northern Cyprus Travel Guide

Northern Cyprus

Northern Cyprus is not a country in the strict sense of the term. All countries except Turkey recognize it as an illegally occupied part of the Republic of Cyprus. Thus, public holidays follow those in Turkey, with additional public holidays on May 1 (Labor Day), July 20 (Peace and Freedom Day), August 30 (Victory Day), October 29 (Turkish Republic Day), and November 15 (Northern Cyprus Republic Day). Although English is widely spoken, Turkish, not Greek, is the predominant language, and Turkish names designate the cities and towns: Nicosia is known as Lefkoşa, Kyrenia as Girne, and Famagusta as Gazimağusa. With some 30,000 Turkish troops stationed in this corner of the island, visitors are advised to obey the "no photographs" signs wherever they appear.


Book A Trip



  • CARS

Trip Finder

Plan Your Next Trip

Subscribe to Newsletter
Sign up for Travel Tips & News
I want emails from Fodor's Travel with travel information and promotions. I can unsubscribe any time using the unsubscribe link at the end of all emails.

Thank you for your interest!

Look out for our newsletters with travel tips and special offers.