Air Travel

Most travelers arrive in Tanzania through Dar es Salaam airport. Many airlines fly directly to Dar es Salaam from Europe, but there are no direct flights from the United States.

KLM offers a daily flight to Dar es Salaam from Amsterdam's Schiphol airport as well as Emirates daily flights from Dubai. Other airlines that fly here frequently are Air Tanzania, Emirates, Ethiopian Airlines, Kenya Airways, Fast Jet, South African Airways, and Swiss Air. Turkish Airlines flies from Istanbul to Dar es Salaam and Kilimanjaro. Oman Air flies to Dar es Salaam via Muscat and then on to Zanzibar. Qatar Airways flies to Dar es Salaam and Zanzibar via Doha. British Airways flies to Dar es Salaam via Doha. Air Tanzania has daily flights to Dar es Salaam from destinations within East Africa.

Airlines

Air Tanzania. 255/222–11–7500; www.airtanzania.co.tz.

British Airways. 022/211–3820; www.britishairways.com.

Emirates. 255/222–116–100–3; www.emirates.com.

Ethiopian Airlines. 022/211–7063; www.ethiopianairlines.com.

Fast Jet. Samora Ave., Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam. 022/788-540-540; www.fastjet.com.

Kenya Airways. 254/20–327–4747; www.kenya-airways.com.

KLM. 022/216–3914; www.klm.com.

Oman Air. 968/2453–1111; www.omanair.com.

Qatar Airways. 022/219–8301; www.qatarairways.com/tz.

South Africa Airways. 022/211–7045; www.flysaa.com.

Swiss Air. 022/211–8871; www.swiss.com.

Turkish Airlines. 022/284–4371; www.turkishairlines.com.

Airports and Transfers

Julius Nyerere International Airport is about 13 km (8 miles) from the city center. Plenty of white-color taxis are available at the airport and will cost you about Tsh 30,000 (US$18) to the city center. There is a board detailing the standard rates, but this will be more expensive if you have not organized your own taxi. Most hotels will send drivers to meet your plane, if arranged in advance, although this will cost more. Taxis to Msasani Peninsula, a bay to the north of the city where many of the hotels listed in this guide are located, cost about Tsh 40,000 (US$24). Prices can usually be negotiated. Traffic into the city is notorious, especially during rush hours.

Airport Contacts

Arusha Airport. A 104, Arusha, Arusha. 027/250–5920; www.taa.go.tz.

Julius Nyerere International Airport. Julius Nyerere Rd., Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam. 022/284–4371; www.taa.go.tz.

Kilimanjaro International Airport. Kilimanjaro Airport Rd., 027/255–4252; www.kilimanjaroairport.co.tz.

Zanzibar Airport. Nyerere Rd., Zanzibar Town, Zanzibar, Zanzibar Urban/West. 024/223–3979; www.zanzibar-airport.com.

Charter Flights

The major charter companies run daily shuttles from Dar es Salaam to popular tourism destinations, such as Serengeti. Keep in mind that you probably won't get to choose the charter company you fly with. The aircraft you get depends on the number of passengers flying and can vary from very small (you’ll sit in the co-pilot's seat) to a much more comfortable commuter plane. Those with a severe fear of small planes might consider road travel instead, although distances are far and the roads are very bumpy.

Due to the limited space and size of the aircraft, charter carriers observe strict luggage regulations: luggage must be soft-sided and weigh between 15 and 20 kg (33 to 44 pounds) depending on the plane

Contacts

Coastal Air. Slipway, Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam. 255/222–842–700; www.coastal.cc.

Flightlink. 3rd Floor, IT Plaza, Ohio/Garden Ave., Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam. 782/354–448; www.flightlinkaircharters.com.

Precision Air. NIC Building, Samora & Pamba Rd., Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam. 022/216–8000; www.precisionairtz.com.

Tanzanair. Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam. 022/284–3131; 022/211–3151; www.tanzanair.com.

ZanAir. Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam. 022/33–670; www.zanair.com.

Previous Travel Tip

When to Go

Next Travel Tip

Getting Here and Around

Advertisement

Book A Trip
  • HOTELS

  • FLIGHTS

  • PACKAGES

  • CARS

Trip Finder
Store
Guidebooks

Fodor's The Complete Guide to African Safaris

View Details