1st time Oregon visitor needs advice...

Old Mar 3rd, 2022, 08:51 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1st time Oregon visitor needs advice...

I am planning a trip to Oregon and Olympic Nat'l Park in September. We will be starting this portion in Ashland Oregon. Originally we planned on 1st night in Portland, then onto Port Angeles, Washington.
Now, we want to add Mt. Hood and Columbia River into the trip. I'm thinking of taking Hwy 62 and 97 through Bend and then the 26 to Mt. Hood and Columbia River area.
Is this a good idea vs. I-5 to Portland and then east to Mt. Hood? one way is scenic, the other faster. That would keep us from backtracking in and out of Portland. From port Angeles we plan to make our way down the Oregon coast back to San Diego.
This is my first time using this forum, so any advice will be greatly appreciated. Also, is Port Angeles the best home base to see Olympic National park, without a ton of driving all day?
I think we will be bypassing the southern section of the park heading straight down the coast.

Last edited by paulpalmer9946; Mar 3rd, 2022 at 08:57 PM. Reason: Additional information needed
Old Mar 4th, 2022, 06:37 AM

Yes, it's a good idea to take US 97 as you can stop off en route at Crater Lake National Park (only 30 minutes out of your way). It's pretty impressive.

Bridge of the Gods @ Casade Locks. This toll bridge crosses the highly scenic Columbia River Gorge.

Ashland. Described as one of the coolest small towns in America, it has a hippie vibe and Southern Oregon University. There are some wonderful parks incuding Lithia Park and Siskiyou Mt. Park. Nearby is the famous Rogue National Scenic River which which has waterwater rafting. There is a hands-on science museum.
Old Mar 4th, 2022, 06:47 AM

Received 79 Likes on 8 Posts