Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > South America
Reload this Page >

Please Give Feedback on My Argentina Itinerary

Old Jul 6th, 2022, 03:38 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone. I’m usually found in the Europe forums and occasionally Japan. This is my first time posting in the South America forum. I am planning a 19 night trip to Argentina for next March 2023, into very early April. Having done research now through both the Rough Guide and Lonely Planet, I’m blown away by how much there is to see and do in Argentina. I will have to regretfully leave out highlights including Salta and Mendoza in order to keep my trip under 3 weeks, but I’m still very excited with what I’m planning to see. My interests are seeing wildlife, natural wonders, Argentine culture and of course, eating fantastic beef and drinking great Argentine wine. Here is the draft itinerary I’ve assembled.

Night 0: Overnight flight from Minneapolis to Buenos Aires, likely via Houston.
Night 1: Catch the afternoon flight from Buenos Aires to Posadas in order to visit the Jesuit missions the next morning
Night 2: Tour San Ignacio Mini and hopefully Santa Ana in the morning-early afternoon. Take a private transfer to Puerto Iguazu
Nights 3 and 4: Puerto Iguazu with a full day each for the Argentine and Brazilian side of the falls
Nights 5-8: Catch the morning flight to Bueno Aires and have 3 1/2 days for my first swing through BA
Nights 9-11: Fly from BA to Puerto Madryn. 3 nights in Puerto Madryn to tour Peninsula Valdes wildfire and Puerto Tomba penguins
Nights 12-14: Fly Puerto Madryn to El Calafate and arrive mid afternoon. Visit the Glacarium late afternoon. Boat cruise the next day to Perito Moreno (and possibly other) glaciers. Next day 3 hour drive to El Chalten to hike around Fitz Roy and return to El Calafate that night. Long day, I know.