Reload this Page >

Offering Advice and Tips about Living on a Sailboat in BVI for Two Weeks

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 27th, 2007, 08:36 PM
jgarvey

Rather than writing a lengthy and extensive trip report, just posting to invite questions and advice about living on a boat and cruising (bareboating) with DH, friends, and family around the BVI for two weeks.

We own a catamaran which has permanent anchorage in Road Town on Tortola. I have been on boat and land down there for the past four years many times and would be happy to answer any questions or offer my experience in any way that would be helpful to other travelers with this particular interest.

Living on a sailboat for two weeks is a totally different experience from staying in a villa or resort, so if this is the area of your interest perhaps I can be of some assistance. Please ask your questions. Four years ago I was a total novice to this way of life. Now I feel that I have accumulated enough experience to be a resource to others.

I have received so much assistance from this forum on my upcoming trip to Rome, I would just like to give something back. Please feel free to ask me anything about living on a boat in the BVI. jg

Old Jan 28th, 2007, 04:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jg- I think that chartering in the BVI was one of my best trips. It is really hard to compare. I loved it, sleeping on the boat, waking up early sitting on deck drinking coffee and watching the sun come up. You are right its a totally different vacation from a villa or resort. I loved being able to go somewhere new everyday, but on your own schedule. We snorkeled at Norman Island which was a magical day, something I will never forget! Glad it was good.

When do you go to Rome (or have you gone already) We go to Italy in June and have received a lot of help from the Europe fodors board as well.
Old Jan 28th, 2007, 10:52 AM
jgarvey