Questions about Malaga

Search

Questions about Malaga

Search this Thread

Old Feb 14th, 2024, 08:57 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Questions about Malaga

Hello. We're a couple in our 60s and a friend in her 70s, and we're going to be staying in Malaga for three days or so in September after visiting Madrid. We're familiar with Madrid, and I'm just learning about Malaga. I see that the must-see places are pretty concentrated in the city center, but my question is about getting around. I don't think we could handle walking up a big hill to the castle. Could we take a taxi up and work our way down?

Also, anything I should know about arriving by train? We might drive, but the train would be a lot cheaper and it doesn't seem that we'll need a car much. Still, it's fun to drive and see things along the way, and after seeing the main sights in Malaga in a day or two, we might want to take a day trip to Gibraltar or somewhere.

Which leads to another question. Our friend doesn't like the idea of a "fast" train at all, and she doesn't believe me when I tell her it doesn't feel crazy fast and one can see plenty of scenery. But my daughter says there are slow trains and fast trains to most destinations. The schedules seem to indicate that to be the case, but the travel times don't seem much different. I think I've only been on a fast train, Madrid to Segovia. What are the non-fast trains like?

Thank you, as always, for your help!
Old Feb 14th, 2024, 10:27 AM

Tell your friend she has nothing to worry about regarding the fast trains. We took them several times while traveling throughout Andalucia, and they are not crazy fast. You don't even realize you are traveling fast. The ride is very smooth, not bumpy at all. You can also take the ALSA buses, which are modern, clean, air-conditioned and reliable. We took them twice, from Cordoba to Granada, and then Granada to Malaga because the train tracks weren't finished to/from Granada at the time.