Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Help Planning for a Trip to Greece / Thanks!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 21st, 2023, 12:57 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey Fodor's Community!

I am a newbie in regards to traveling outside of the US, despite being in my 30s. I just never had a good opportunity due to cost of living in Los Angeles and my agency life in marketing. Around 2020 I was ready to travel internationally, and then COVID hit. I am just now starting to feel safer to travel and let my guard down a bit to COVID, but I am still very cautious. That being said, I have had enough of fearing everything due to COVID, I need to treat myself to my first international vacation and get out of my COVID-induced doldrums. This first venture will be to Greece, which has always been at the top of my list. Therefore I was wondering if somebody could help me plan a trip that would last for 2-3 weeks. I would like to formulate a travel path starting in Athens and moving around the country to the best cites that fit the below criteria.

Here are some of my goals:
  • visit during optimal weather (well, when is it not optimal in Greece, right? ha!)
    • what are the best times to travel considering air fares?
  • visit as much of the country as possible, but also have a moment to relax traveling around the Cyclades
    • I'd like to focus on scenic beaches, cites of historical ancient Greece, charming towns, beautiful natural landscapes such as mountains, beaches, forests etc (via hiking, kayaking, biking etc)

Additionally, as most people do with doing things for the first time, I have some concerns as well. Here are some of my concerns:
  • how safe is travel now with COVID / can I wear a mask the entire time on the plane and through security? in Europe I mean, as rules and behaviours are different to a degree from that of the US.