Would you recommend tour guides?

Old Oct 20th, 2022, 07:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone, I just wanted to get your thoughts on this, as I have never used a local tour guide before. What are their pros and cons, are they worth the extra cost? The important thing during my vacation (it has been a while) is that I really don't want to worry about anything and just want to relax. Please share your thoughts! Thank you!
Old Oct 20th, 2022, 07:14 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
FireChariot ~ Welcome to the Fodor's travel forums. I love to plan my own trips so have never thought to use a travel agent. Do you mean a tour guide as in joining and organized group?
Old Oct 21st, 2022, 04:28 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It depends on where you are going. If it's a familiar and easy to navigate area, you should be fine on your own. Otherwise, a tour guide can be helpful and informative.
Old Oct 21st, 2022, 05:51 PM

In 40+ years of travel use private tour guides many, many times in and for the most part they‘ve been excellent. When we travel to a new area or city we usually hire a private tour guide for our first day as it gives us a excellent way to get an informed feel for the particular town/area we are visiting. I’m most instances the tour guide gave us useful tips on what to see and do on our own during the rest of our visit. We find the extra cost of a private guide to well worth it. Depending on where we visited and the length of our trip we’ve sometimes used the same guide on multiple days or different guides in different areas or days.
Old Oct 23rd, 2022, 06:34 PM
Original Poster

Originally Posted by suze
FireChariot ~ Welcome to the Fodor's travel forums. I love to plan my own trips so have never thought to use a travel agent. Do you mean a tour guide as in joining and organized group?
Thank you! Yup, more of a private travel guide than a big group type.