Bruges or Ghent - advice please!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 5th, 2022, 10:38 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I know this might be a common question but I’d love to provide a little background to determine which of these two cities my husband and I should stay in.

We will be traveling from Seattle (a 12 hour journey to Brussels airport). I was an exchange student near Liege about 15 years ago and my husband has never been to Europe. I visited Bruges and Brussels but never went to Ghent. I remember loving the ambiance of Bruges but I was 18 and did not stay but more than an afternoon.

Our highlight of our trip will be Paris. I look forward to the night life, museums, big city, restaurants, etc. Until then, I’d like to take a few days after our flight and before Paris to see Belgium again, give my husband a glimpse of the year I spent there, and re-coop from jet lag before Paris. Also, since he has never been to Europe, I want to start with a beautiful and easy to navigate town that will wow him and not overwhelm him.

so with that said, we have about 4 nights to spare in Belgium. Do we start my in Bruges or Ghent (and plan to do a day trip to which ever we won’t spend the night in.) oh and I would also like to take a full day to bike the canals (we are really into cycling so we’d like to spend the day doing this!)

thanks!
Old Sep 5th, 2022, 11:18 AM

Good question. Very different places. When is your trip?