Newfoundland Itinerary help needed!

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2017, 08:27 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone! Thanks in advance for taking the time to read. I'm brand new to this and I could really use some help with my Newfoundland travel plans.

THE TRIP: I am arriving with my family, by ferry in Port-aux-Basques on the morning of May 25. We leave, by ferry, on June 6. That gives us 12 nights. In the spring. We realize it will be chilly but we cannot change the dates.

OUR HOPES AND DREAMS: My children most want to see L'Anse aux Meadows, viking stuff and puffins, above all else. Ice burgs would be awesome too. My 12-yr-old is a budding ornithologist and wants to see the birds. I would love to see St. John's and hike the East Coast trail. Our family also really loves hiking. We are also interested in Aboriginal culture and history, and in geology. More than enough interests to fill our time!

THE PLAN: We had planned a coast-to-coast trip beginning in the west and ending at Argentia until I realized (silly me) that the Argentia ferry doesn't start up until later in June (sigh). I also learned that the Norstead Viking Village does not open until June 4. SOOO I am learning as I go! In that case, we decided to begin our trip with a long day of driving to St. John's and then work our way back west, ending with L'Anse-aux-Meadows and then a long drive back to Port-aux-Basques. Not ideal, but trying to work with what I have. Here is my tentative itinerary, but would love your insights! Any suggestions on itinerary changes, as well as stops, food, etc are much appreciated!

THE NEW PLAN:
May 25 - Long drive to St. John's (3 nights there in a place near downtown)
26 - Explore the city, take in Signal hill.
27 - Witless Bay and East Coast Trail
28 - Head to Elliston for 2 nights (have a salt box house booked there). Stop to visit Trinity, hike Skerwink Trail and head to Elliston for the night.