How many home bases do we need for 3 weeks in Belgium

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 17th, 2013, 04:47 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm just beginning to plan a September 2014 trip to Belgium and I'm disappointed that Fodors does not have a guidebook for Belgium and my usually reliable public library has books that are rather outdated.

I'd like to use a slow travel approach to Belgium by spending one week somewhere on the eastern side of the country and one week on the western side and finish with a stay of up to a week in Brussels before flying home. I hope to select locations for each of those home bases that will allow daytrips to significant sights surrounding our base.

This will be our first trip dedicated to Belgium. In 2009 we spent an overnight in Bruges while driving between Amsterdam and northern France and on the same trip visited Tournai and Ghent as daytrips from Lille. Ghent was a mass of urban renewal chaos when we were there so I'd like to see in without all the detours.

Can I limit our stay to one week long stay to reach most of the Flanders part of Belgium and then move to somewhere in Eastern/Central Wallonia for a another week? I'd like to end with a few days in Brussels with a possible daytrip to Antwerp from there.

Can you offer any suggestions as to which locations would give good access for daytrips in Belgium. Thank you, Deborah
Old Dec 17th, 2013, 05:09 AM

Hey Deborah,

Belgium has some very nice places and would love to go back to Brugge. Brussels was ok, but really a 1 day experience. I think in my own opinion, Belgium could be done in 1 week rather than 2. I hope you…I am sure you will have a great time!

Suzy
Old Dec 17th, 2013, 06:31 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
http://www.fodors.com/world/europe/belgium/
Old Dec 17th, 2013, 08:24 AM