Search

Where to go between Paris and Barcelona

Search this Thread

Old Jul 15th, 2021, 07:09 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Where to go between Paris and Barcelona

Hi
I’m traveling for my honeymoon on mid August. I’m planning to go to Paris and take the train from Paris to Barcelona and then fly back home.

I need a third destination between the two cities. My total vacation is about 16 days. We plan to spend it like this:

5/6 days in Paris
5/6 days in Barcelona

Can you recommend me where to spend the other 4/5 days in between? Should I go to southern France or somewhere in Spain.

This is my second trip to Europe so I’m no expert. I would appreciate it much if you can give me suggestions with details such as taking a train vs renting a car, which cities are best, and where to stay.

Thanks a lot.
Old Jul 15th, 2021, 08:14 AM

Received 22 Likes on 4 Posts
Collioure! North of Barcelona, across the border into France. It is a beautiful seaside town with charm, art history, a castle and good hotels and restaurants. A gem.
Old Jul 15th, 2021, 08:41 AM

France is the big gap in my Mediterranean travel experience, but I love honeymoon questions (congrats!). This is how I would approach it:
1) Consider if you want another city or a village or seaside, etc.
2) Look at the train maps to see the options that would maximize your time. You don't want to plan a big drive, because picking up in one country and dropping in another incurs a big fee. You can get around this by dropping the car somewhere in France and then continuing to Barcelona by train or bus.
3) Just to throw out some ideas for you to investigate--and because the sea always scream romance to me--you could go to Marseille and explore a bit of the riviera before heading to Barcelona. Or, head to Bordeaux and explore a bit of Basque country before heading to Barcelona.

Old Jul 15th, 2021, 09:09 AM