Search

Whale watching July/August

Search this Thread

Old Aug 21st, 2022, 04:06 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Whale watching July/August

HI all
Please forgive me if its the wrong place to post but after 3 blanks on whale watching trips im after some advice. I understand they are mammals and not tame but could anyone give any pointers of the best places to see Whales in Europe in July/August time please? Need to be that time of year as I work in education so fits in with the school holidays in the uk. Any advice would be great.
Many thanks
Andy
Old Aug 21st, 2022, 05:08 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
The Azores are fantastic for this sort of thing

you may also find this organisation knows a bit about it

https://wwhandbook.iwc.int/en/country-profiles/portugal

Last edited by bilboburgler; Aug 21st, 2022 at 06:06 AM.
Old Aug 21st, 2022, 05:45 AM

You need to be where whales are migrating that time of year. I can’t help with Europe, but if you were willing to travel to the Western Cape of South Africa you would be almost guaranteed to see whales in July/August. It’s a long way to travel, but might be better than the three blanks you have already had.
https://insideguide.co.za/cape-town/whale-watching/
Old Aug 21st, 2022, 07:36 AM

What sort of whales are you hoping to see?

https://www.whalewatching.com/where-to-watch/europe/

https://www.wildsea.eu/blog-en/the-1...-watching.html

Tarifa in Spain fits your school holiday needs.
If you choose to go on a boat tour for Whale watching please make sure they obey the recommendations regarding distance and interaction with the animals. Find one with a marine biologist on board if you can. Not all do and they can cause real problems. They are not cheap but can be worth it. Some offer a second go if you don't see whales/orcas/dolphins on your first trip.

There again you can see them off Ireland and northern Scotland too, and maybe get to see a basking shark too.
Old Aug 21st, 2022, 07:48 AM