One Week: France, Luxembourg, or Switzerland

Search

One Week: France, Luxembourg, or Switzerland

Search this Thread

Old Mar 28th, 2021, 05:15 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
One Week: France, Luxembourg, and/or Switzerland

Hello! I just booked a fully-refundable ticket to Paris for this September with the recognition that I may have to cancel depending on the COVID situation. With that said, I'm excited about the process of planning, even if I have to reschedule, so I wanted to get started. I've never used this forum before so apologies if this is too much/too little information and of course, I appreciate any/all advice/input!

I've visited Paris a few times, so I'm planning to mainly use it as a starting point. For the bulk of my trip (I'll have 9 days total including the day I land in Paris during the mid-afternoon and the day I depart in the evening), I'm trying to decide where to spend my time: I'm considering Luxembourg, French-speaking Switzerland, and other parts of France (outside of Paris/Normandy).

A few things about my travel preferences:
-I'm hoping to base myself in mid-sized cities, but ideally they are scenic/walkable with interesting history/architecture and nice green spaces.
-I'm a big foodie, so if there are any places that people recommend for their culinary scene, that's appreciated.
-I'm okay with a degree of travel, but I ideally want to base myself out of no more than 3 total places, including Paris (meaning I'd likely be looking to either base out of one city for 6-7 days or base out of two cities for ~3 days each).
-I specify French-speaking Switzerland as I've been learning/practicing French and want to try to put it to use!

My current plan probably looks like this:
Day 1: Arrive in Paris --> train/plane to Destination 1
Days 2-4: Destination 1
Day 5: Travel to Destination 2 (or just stay in Destination 1)
Days 5-7: Destination 2 (or just stay in Destination 1)