Advice on connecting through CDG Paris

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 20th, 2022, 08:12 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Traveling to France in November and need advice. I'm ticketed on American Airlines/British Airways from HOU to CDG. I have separate tickets and booking numbers to continue via Air France to Bordeaux, France. Since my luggage will be tagged through to CDG, and I will be claiming them upon arrival, what is the process once I claim my bags and clear customs? Will I be able to recheck my bag with Air France to Bordeaux in the vicinity of the customs area or will I be required to proceed to the Air France ticketing counter and begin the checkin process for a new flight? I've read something about a "self-connecting transfer" area, but I've never done this before and am uncertain of the specific process or location. Thanks in advance for anyone's expertise in helping to minimize any travel hiccoughs.
Old Jul 21st, 2022, 05:56 AM

A "self-connecting transfer" simply means you are on your own with no guarantee that, in the even of a delay of any kind, you will be protected on a backup flight.

AA arrives CDG at terminal 2A, not sure where BA arrives but from wherever you arrive, you will make your way to the AF check in desk. Recent delays at CDG passport control have been well in excess of 60 minutes and recent AF baggage check in has been extended to 2 hours before scheduled departure.

Hopefully, by November things will be back to normal, but I would schedule 3 to 4 hours between your CDG arrival and planned departure.

Old Jul 21st, 2022, 12:27 PM

Are you flying IAH LHR on AA then connecting on BA to CDG? AF have a direct flight IAHCDG which I would have thought made more sense to take as you could have had one booking all the way thru to BOD from IAH with luggage tagged to final destination.