Search

help narrowing down 3 week itinerary

Search this Thread

Old Sep 1st, 2022, 08:24 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
help narrowing down 3 week itinerary

Hi,
I am new to the Indonesia forum, but have reading through others' Trip Reports and questions. I am hoping that this group can help me narrow down the itinerary for a summer 2023 trip to Indonesia. We will be four adults (ages 40 - 55) and two children (ages 9 and 12). We are all active and fit but not hard-core athletes or outdoorsmen. We enjoy outdoor adventure, hiking, cultural sights, and most especially for this trip - wildlife! Our "must-see's" include orangutans in the wild (realizing most of the ones we will see have been habituated to humans at some point), an elephant experience, tarsiers, and great snorkeling. We are quite happy with the following itinerary, but need to cut 2-4 days. We will spend 4-5 days in Thailand after, and just can't take much more than three weeks off work. I will put the basic itinerary below, and my specific questions are:

1. If we need to cut something, should we cut the Tanjung Putting section? We will see orangutans in Sumatra, so this seems like the obvious "cut" to me, but is the Klotok experience in Tanjung Putting just so fabulous that we shouldn't miss it? Should we cut something else instead? Or just make it all work?

2. How do people feel about Lion Air? This itinerary does NOT use Lion Air, and could probably be more efficient if we DO use Lion Air, but I am scared about safety.

3. Do we have too many days anywhere? Too few? We like to aim for 3 nights in each location so that we can settle in a bit and not feel rushed, but also like to see everything as "efficiently" as possible.

Itinerary:

July 15 - arrive in Singapore (from the US)
July 16 - fly to Manado, Sulawesi and transfer to Bunaken / Siladen area
July 17 -18 beach time and snorkeling. This time is to recover from the terrible flight and time change (3 nights in Bunaken)